Make-Up

5 Minute L’Oreal Paris Nude Magique Eau De Teint Review

Image

As someone who doesn’t have a lot of blemishes or skin problems, I’m always on the hunt for a light foundation that doesn’t turn my skin into scales upon application. In the summer months, I’ve really enjoyed using Mac’s Face & Body. While I know that’s not for everyone or every occasion, I felt it was a really easy, slap dash foundation perfect for the summer months. However, during the harsh Irish Winter, I usually switch to a heavier foundation that can withstand the wind and the rain. This time I decided to try something a little bit different, L’Oreal Paris Nude Magique Eau De Teint, which is advertised as a light-weight water foundation. I figured this might be a good dupe for Mac’s F&B without having the expensive price tag.

When I first saw the bottle I was really disappointed in the size of the actual product, 20 mls for €14.99. That’s very expensive. It also comes in a glass bottle which, (if you lack the motor skills that are needed to not smashing everything that isn’t plastic) is such an inconvenience. So, despite these initial flaws and in typical Cara fashion, I caved and bought it anyway. Upon opening the bottle, I discovered that it’s just an open lid where you pour onto a brush, hand, sponge etc. Packaging like this makes me hold my head in my hands and ask “why?” Why on earth would a company give people a glass bottle with a lid that lets every sort of bacteria into it? A lid that spills out way too much product and leaves your hands and clothes covered in foundation. Particularly being a water-based, runny product, you need a nice squeeze bottle, or pump. Something that doesn’t let bacteria and fungus into it.

Anyway, I put my strong opinions and feelings behind me and tried the product. I usually use my hands with water based products as I feel brushes soak up and waste these types of foundations. It’s just way more practical. When I applied this first, I was surprised at the different texture compared to Face and Body. Its way more silky and feels like a light oil compared to other water-based products I have tried. I really enjoyed the texture. The coverage is better than expected and was actually a lot more buildable than F&B. However, I had to use a good bit of the stuff to get a nice coverage which isn’t really practical considering the small amount you get in the bottle. It lasted around six hours and didn’t change colour during that time.

images

For anyone, who has super pale skin like me, the porcelain shade compliments my skin tone well. However, it has a limited range of 7 shades which will not suit everyone’s needs. Overall I would give this product a generous six out of ten. Merely, for surprising me it’s lovely texture and buildable coverage. It loses four marks for having terrible packaging design. Change the bottle & we’ll talk, L’Oreal

If you have any opinions on this product, leave a comment below. I’d love to hear what you thought of it!

Standard

One thought on “5 Minute L’Oreal Paris Nude Magique Eau De Teint Review

Leave a comment